• Village Gamer

  • Toronto Screenwriting Conference Announces Telefilm Canada New Voices Award Winners

24th March 2014

Toronto Screenwriting Conference Announces Telefilm Canada New Voices Award Winners

toronto screenwriting conferenceThe Toronto Screenwriting Conference (TSC) has announced the recipients of the Telefilm Canada New Voices Award. Out of the forty-seven applicants representing nine provinces, from Newfoundland to the Northwest Territories, five emerging writers have received the award; Katherine Di Marino, Elene Mekete, Lea Nakonechny, Ashley Park and Jon Wayne Brown. The fifth annual Toronto Screenwriting Conference takes place at Ryerson University’s Ted Rogers School of Management on April 5 & 6, 2014. Each winner will receive a complimentary registration to the TSC as well as an exclusive lunch with representatives from Telefilm Canada, and TSC founder and president of Meridian Artists Literary Agency, Glenn Cockburn.

“The Toronto Screenwriting Conference is a great investment for an emerging screenwriter to get advanced and unparalleled training by experienced screenwriters. The TSC was established to equip writers with tools and skills that will inspire them to generate new and viable stories. The Telefilm Canada New Voices Award offers Katherine, Elene, Lea, Ashley and Jon a great opportunity to take their career to the next level,” said Kim Haladay, Toronto Screenwriting Conference producer.

Carolle Brabant, Executive Director of Telefilm Canada, added: “We would like to warmly congratulate the 2014 winners of the Telefilm Canada New Voices Award. Telefilm is thrilled to again have the opportunity to support emerging screenwriters in their pursuit of excellence, new prospects and new partnerships. This honour recognizes promising writers and allows them to gain invaluable experience, to build their careers, and in the future, to contribute to the success of Canadian cinema.”

The TSC offers an unprecedented opportunity to connect with other screen-based writers, producers and directors from across Canada and the U.S.. Over an intensive two days leading screenwriters in feature film, television and gaming will lead sessions including ‘The Anatomy of a Pilot,’ ‘Breakdown of the One-Hour Drama,’ ‘Endings: The Good, The Bad and The Insanely Great,’ ‘Comedy is a Funny Business,’ ‘The Way of the Future: Writing Sci-Fi for Television,’ ‘Approaching the Rewrite’ and ‘Playing the Story: New Narratives.’

Speakers include:

  • Michael Arndt (Toy Story 3, Little Miss Sunshine)
  • Leonard Dick (The Good WifeHouse)
  • David Webb Peoples (Twelve Monkeys, Unforgiven, Blade Runner)
  • Eric Gilliland (Roseanne, That 70s Show)
  • Katie Ford (Working the Engels, Miss Congeniality)
  • Sam Egan (The Listener, Continuum)
  • Jeff Biederman (Spun Out)
  • Joseph Raso (Seed)
  • Cameron Porsandeh (Helix)
  • Corey May (Ubisoft’s Assassin’s Creed)
  • Darcy McDevitt (Ubisoft’s Assassin’s Creed)
  • Paul Chitlik (author of Rewrite)

Eligible applicants must have written at least two short films of which one has been produced, and have written one feature length screenplay, TV pilot or series treatment. They must not have previously produced a feature or TV series, or received the Telefilm Canada New Voices Award. All applicants were asked to write a brief note about how the Toronto Screenwriting Conference will assist in their professional development and about a writer who has most inspired their screenwriting. 

This entry was posted on Monday, March 24th, 2014 at 2:51 pm and is filed under Awards, Careers, Events, National News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.
  1. Tami Quiring (@VillageGamer)
    7:53 am on March 24th, 2014

    .@TorScreenConf Announces @Telefilm_Canada New Voices Award Winners http://t.co/xYwwKTgUlj #eyeoncanada #TSCWrites

  2. MOR (@MORdirections)
    10:57 am on March 24th, 2014

    RT @VillageGamer: .@TorScreenConf Announces @Telefilm_Canada New Voices Award Winners http://t.co/xYwwKTgUlj #eyeoncanada #TSCWrites

  3. @BurlingtonPL
    11:30 am on March 24th, 2014

    One of our Writers circle participants wins… @Telefilm_Canada New Voices Award Winners http://t.co/ED5WcIzVwH

  4. Anne Trueman (@Anne_CMPA)
    9:17 pm on March 24th, 2014

    RT @VillageGamer: .@TorScreenConf Announces @Telefilm_Canada New Voices Award Winners http://t.co/xYwwKTgUlj #eyeoncanada #TSCWrites

You must be logged in to post a comment.

  • Archives

  • Subscribe to our Newsletter

  • Select a list:

  • GWEN Radio
  • Gamers Giving Back