• Village Gamer

  • Headliners Announced For 14th Annual Canadian Comedy Awards Festival

26th August 2013

Headliners Announced For 14th Annual Canadian Comedy Awards Festival

Canadian Comedy AwardsThe Canadian Comedy Foundation for Excellence is pleased to announce that Alan Thicke, Tom Green, This is That, Jeremy Hotz and Harland Williams are among many great Canadian talents scheduled to appear at the the 14th Annual Canadian Comedy Awards Festival taking place in Ottawa from October 3-6, 2013 at four different venues across the city. Festivities will kick off on Thursday, October 3rd with a special live episode of Best Radio Program/Clip nominee CBC’s This is That featuring Pat Kelly and Peter Oldring in the studio space at Centrepointe Theatre.

Previous Canadian Comedy Award winners Nikki Payne and Sean Cullen will be joined by Best Male Stand-Up nominee Mark Forward, Harland Williams and host Alan Thicke for The Canadian Comedy All-Star Show on Friday, October 4th, 2013 on the Centrepointe Mainstage.

In addition to the Canadian Comedy All-Star show, on Saturday, October 5th, 2013, Centrepointe will house some of Ottawa’s finest home-grown talent in The Ottawa Show. Showcasing just how growing up in Ottawa makes you so hilarious. The Ottawa Show features stand-up comedy by Jon Dore, Tom Green, Mike MacDonald, Best Female-Stand-Up nominee Rebecca Kohler and Jeremy Hotz.

A portion of the shows proceeds will go towards “Mike MacDonald’s Comeback Fund”.

Each night of the Festival will also feature showcases by nominees in seven of the live performance categories for Sketch, Improv, Stand-Up and Comedic Play/Revue/Series plus the Festival’s first ever all French language stand-up show on Saturday October 5th. Noteable nominees scheduled to appear include:

  • DeAnne Smith (Best Female Stand- Up)
  • Graham Kay (Best Breakout Artist)
  • Peter Anthony (Best Male Stand-Up)
  • The Sunday Service (Best Improv Troupe)
  • The Second City (Best Sketch Troupe)
  • The Sketchersons (Best Sketch Troupe)

Showcases will take place at the studio at Centrepointe Theatre plus Canadian Comedy Awards partnered venues Yuk Yuks (292 Elgin St) and Arts Court (2 Daly Ave). Capping off the four day festival, star of the hit CTV series Satisfaction, Ryan Belleville will host a live awards ceremony on Sunday October 6th, 2013 at Centrepointe.


This entry was posted on Monday, August 26th, 2013 at 3:36 pm and is filed under Awards, Events, National News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.
  1. Tami Quiring (@VillageGamer)
    8:37 am on August 26th, 2013

    Headliners Announced For 14th Annual @canadiancomedy Awards Festival http://t.co/jrTCnF5P6q #eyeoncanada

  2. @canadiancomedy
    12:35 am on August 27th, 2013

    RT @VillageGamer: Headliners Announced For 14th Annual @canadiancomedy Awards Festival http://t.co/jrTCnF5P6q #eyeoncanada

You must be logged in to post a comment.

  • Archives

  • Subscribe to our Newsletter

  • Select a list:

  • GWEN Radio
  • Gamers Giving Back