• Village Gamer

  • Directors Guild of Canada Honours the Best in the Business

1st November 2011

Directors Guild of Canada Honours the Best in the Business

directors guild of canadaThe Directors Guild of Canada celebrated the 10thanniversary of the DGC Awards in Toronto this evening. Three special career acknowledgments were handed out along with 19 awards honouring the best work created by members this past year. Renowned radio host Jian Ghomeshi hosted the Gala which was held at the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel. Below is a full list of the awards presented at the annual awards:

DGC Lifetime Achievement Award Presented by Silver Sponsor, Shaftesbury Films
Ted Kotcheff

Don Haldane Distinguished Service Award – George Mihalka

DGC Honourable Member Award – Michael Spencer

Best Direction – Feature Film Presented by Gold Sponsor, Deluxe
Richard J. Lewis for Barney’s Version

Best Direction – Television Movie or Mini-Series Presented by Gold Sponsor, Panavision
Jerry Ciccoritti for John A: Birth Of A Country

Best Direction – Television Series Presented by Gold Sponsor, William F. White International
Jeremy Podeswa for The Tudors, EPS 407 “Sixth and Final Wife”

Best Feature Film Presented by Platinum Sponsor, Technicolor
Barney’s Version

Best Television Movie or Mini-Series – John A: Birth of a Nation

Best Television Series – Drama Presented by Gold Sponsor, PS Production Services Ltd.
The Tudors, EPS 407 “Sixth and Final Wife”

Best Television Series – Family Presented by Gold Sponsor, Cinespace
Heartland – EPS 407 “Jackpot”

Best Television Series – Comedy
Call Me Fitz – EPS 101 “The Pilot”

Allan King Award For Excellence In DocumentaryPresented by Rogers Group of Funds
Force of Nature: The David Suzuki Movie (Sturla Gunnarsson, Director – Nicholas Hector, Picture Editor – Michael Bonini, Sound Editor)

Best Short Film
Taxi Libre – Kaveh Nabatian (Director-Producer)

Best Production Design – Feature Film
Claude Pare for Barney’s Version

Best Production Design – Television Movie or Mini-Series
Tim Bider for John A: Birth of a Country

Best Production Design – Television Series
Zoe Sakellaropoulo for Being Human, EPS. 101 “There Goes The Neighbourhood Part 1”

Best Picture Editing – Feature Film
Michele Conroy for Splice

Best Picture Editing – Television Movie or Mini Series
Gareth C. Scales for The Nativity

Best Picture Editing – Television Series
Lara Mazur – FLASHPOINT, EPS. 308 “Jumping At Shadows”

Best Sound Editing – Feature Film
The Whistleblower – Mark Gingras, John Laing, James Robb, Alex Bullick, Nelson Ferreira, Katie Halliday and Kevin Banks

Best Sound Editing – Television Movie or Mini-Series
A Heartland Christmas – Kevin Howard, Robert Hegedus, Richard Calistan, Marvyn Dennis, Keven Banks, Jason MacNeill

Best Sound Editing – Television Series
Durham County, EPS 302 “Family Day” – Jill Purdy, Alex Bullick, Rose Gregoris

This entry was posted on Tuesday, November 1st, 2011 at 5:59 am and is filed under Awards, National News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

  • Archives

  • Subscribe to our Newsletter

  • Select a list:

  • GWEN Radio
  • Gamers Giving Back