• Village Gamer

  • 2009 CFTPA Indie Award Nominees Announced Celebrating Independent Canadian Producers

22nd December 2008

2009 CFTPA Indie Award Nominees Announced Celebrating Independent Canadian Producers

posted in National News By: | Print This Post Print This Post

CFTPAOttawa – The Canadian Film and Television Production Association (CFTPA) is delighted to announce the nominees for the second annual CFTPA Indie Awards to be presented in Ottawa on February 18th, 2009.

The awards were created by the CFTPA to honour the outstanding achievements of Canadian independent producers. The National Jury members are made up of leading industry players including Tecca Crosbie, Michael Donovan, Slawko Klymkiw, Sharon McGowan and Suzette Normandeau. With these 44 nominations, selected from more than 160 entries, the Jury’s task in choosing the winners is formidable.

“Through these awards we recognize the hard work and excellence of Canadian producers,” says Guy Mayson, President and CEO of the CFTPA. “Our industry not only entertains and enlightens, it helps create jobs and contributes to the economic well-being of the country. We are proud to showcase their exceptional work. Congratulations to each nominee.”

The awards ceremony will be hosted by renowned comedienne and writer Cathy Jones—a multi-award winner herself for CODCO and This Hour Has 22 Minutes.

The CFTPA is a non-profit trade organization that works on behalf of almost 400 companies engaged in the production and distribution of English-language television programs, feature films, and interactive media products in all regions of Canada. More specifically, it promotes the general interests of its members provincially, federally, and internationally; negotiates and manages labour agreements with guilds and unions; administers copyright collectives; trains new industry entrants through 7 national internship programs; and undertakes a number of other specific initiatives that help increase awareness and enhance communication within the Canadian and international production communities.

Nominees 2009 CFTPA Indies Awards

Best Children’s and Youth Programme or Series

Heads Up! – Look Back Productions Ltd.
Producer: Nick Orchard

renegadepress.com – Vérité Films
Producers: Virginia Thompson, Robert deLint, Jordan Wheeler, Sara Snow

Think Big – Breakthrough Films & Television
Producers: Ira Levy, Peter Williamson, Emily Shank, Amy Marcella

World of Quest – Cookie Jar Entertainment
Producers: Michael Hirsh, Toper Taylor, John Vandervelde, Stephen Sustarsic, Pamela Slavin

Busytown Mysteries – Cookie Jar Entertainment
Producers: Christine Davis, Michael Hirsh, Pamela Slavin, Toper Taylor

Best Comedy Programme or Series

This Hour Has 22 Minutes – Halifax Film, a DHX Media Company
Producers: Michael Donovan, Mark Farrell, Jack Kellum, Jenipher Ritchie, Susan MacDonald

Little Mosque on the Prairie – WestWind Pictures Ltd.
Producers: Mary Darling, Clark Donnelly, Paul Mather, Michael Snook, Zarqa Nawaz

Corner Gas – Vérité Films
Producers: Virginia Thompson, Brent Butt, David Storey, Kevin White, Mark Farrell

Caution: May Contain Nuts
Mosaic Entertainment
Producers: Eric Rebalkin, Camille Beaudoin, Jake Chapman, Chester Sit

Best Convergent New Media

Anash Interactive – Reel Girls Media Inc.
Producer: Ava Karvonen

Taste Buds – marblemedia
Producers: Mark Bishop, Matthew Hornburg, Diane Williamson, Sasha Boersma

The Border Interactive – White Pine Pictures
Producers: Peter Raymont, Evan Tones, Julia Bennett

Best Documentary Programme

Fatherhood Dreams – Interfilm Productions Inc.
Producers: Boris Ivanov, Julia Ivanova

Passage – PTV Productions Inc.
Producers: Andrea Nemtin, John Walker, Bill Nemtin, Kent Martin

Kike Like Me – Cave 7 Productions Inc.
Producer: Jamie Kastner

Triage: Dr.James Orbinski 0 White Pine Pictures
Producer: Peter Raymont

Air India – Withrow Road Pictures/Eurasia Motion Pictures Inc./52 Media Inc.
Producers: David York, Sturla Gunnarsson

Best Documentary Series

The Rig: Oil Sands – Anaid Productions Inc.
Producers: Margaret Mardirossian, David Way, Helen Schmidt, David Benson, Pauline Lancaster

Out in the Cold – Reel Cold Inc.
Producers: Anne Pick, Arthur Mercredi

Landscape as Muse – 291 Film Company Inc.
Producer: Ian Toews

Working Over Time – Primitive Entertainment
Producers: Michael McMahon, Kristina McLaughlin, Kevin McMahon

Ancestors in the Attic – Primitive Entertainment
Producers: Michael McMahon, Kristina McLaughlin, Dugald Maudsley

Best Feature Film

Passchendaele – Rhombus Media Inc.
Producers: Niv Fichman, Frank Siracusa, Paul Gross

Blindness – Rhombus Media Inc.
Producers: Niv Fichman, Andrea Barata Ribeiro, Sonoko Sakai, Bel Berlinck, Sari Friedland

It’s Not Me, I Swear – micro_scope
Producers: Luc Déry, Kim McCraw

Stone of Destiny – Infinity Features
Producers: Robert Merilees, William Vince, Charles Martin Smith

Fugitive Pieces – Serendipity Point Films
Producer: Robert Lantos
Best Lifestyle or Reality Programme or Series

The Heat with Mark McEwen
General Purpose Pictures Inc.
Producers: Scott Clark McNeil, Josie Crimi

Til Debt Do Us Part – Frantic Films
Producers: Jamie Brown, Jennifer Horvath

Restaurant Makeover – Tricon Films and Television
Producers: Andrea Gorfolova, Shaam Makan

Green Force II
Tricon Films and Television
Producers: Andrea Gorfolova, Shaam Makan

Colin and Justin’s Home Heist – Cineflix
Producers: Simon Lloyd, Katherine Buck, Philip Whelan, Glen Salzman

Best Mini-Series

Everest – Screen Door Inc.
Producers: Heather Haldane, Mary Young Leckie, Randy Bradshaw, Jason Lee

The Englishman’s Boy – Minds Eye Entertainment
Producer: Kevin DeWalt

Would Be Kings – Norstar Filmed Entertainment
Producers: Ilana Frank, Ray Sager, Esta Spalding, Tassie Cameron, David Wellington

Les Lavigueur, la vrai histoire
Locomotion Films
Producers: Marc. S. Grenier, Denis Martel

Best Prime Time Drama Series

The Border- Season 1 – White Pine Pictures
Producers: Peter Raymont, Brian Dennis, David Barlow, Janet MacLean

Intelligence- Season 2 – Haddock Entertainment/Watcher Films (II) Inc.
Producers: Chris Haddock, Laura Lightbown, Arvi Liimatainen

ReGenesis IV – Shaftesbury Films
Producers: Christina Jennings, Scott Garvie, Tom Chehak, Laura Harbin

Flashpoint – Pink Sky Entertainment/Avamar Entertainment
Producers: Anne Marie La Traverse, Bill Mustos, Mark Ellis, Tassie Cameron, Stephanie Morgenstern

Best TV Movie

Sticks and Stones – Dream Street Pictures Inc./Cirrus Communications
Producers: André Béraud, Timothy M. Hogan, Rick LeGuerrier, Richard Speer, Josée Vallée

Elijah – Anagram Pictures Inc.
Producers: Blake Corbet, Mary Anne Waterhouse, Christopher Leeson, Lisa Meeches, Gigi Boyd

Booky and the Secret Santa – Shaftesbury Films
Producers: Christina Jennings, Scott Garvie, Peter Moss, Phyllis Platt

Mayerthorpe – Seven24 Films/Slanted Wheel Entertainment
Producers: Jordy Randall, Tom Cox, Jon Slan

This entry was posted on Monday, December 22nd, 2008 at 11:18 am and is filed under National News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

  • Archives

  • Subscribe to our Newsletter

  • Select a list:

  • GWEN Radio
  • Gamers Giving Back