12th May 2011

World Technology Awards Call For Nominations

world technology networkThe World Technology Network has announced its official Call for Nominations for the 2011 World Technology Awards, honoring those individuals and corporations deemed to be doing “the innovative work of the greatest likely long-term significance” in 20 different categories in science, technology and related fields.

Presented by the World Technology Network (“The WTN”) in association with TIME magazine, Fortune, CNN, Science/AAAS, Technology Review, and others, the World Technology Awards have been presented since 2000 as a way to honor those innovators who have made the most impactful contributions to science and technology.

“This year we are more eager than ever to identify and pay tribute to the talent and innovation of our individual and corporate honorees,” says James P. Clark, Founder/Chairman of the World Technology Network. “We try — through our peer-review process — to ensure that this program deserves the genuine global prestige that these Awards have achieved. This moment in history all but requires that we uncover and promote who is doing the most innovative and important work… the work that is and will continue to determine the 21st Century.”

WTN Fellows (winners and finalists of the previous annual Award cycles, in the individual award categories) are involved in the nomination and also the finalist-determination process, supplemented by notable Advisors as the winners are selected. Winner and Finalists become Fellows (individual nominees) or Corporate Members (organizational nominees). Previous individual Winners have included: Craig Venter, Tim Berners-Lee, Craig Newmark, Jonathan Ive, Zhengrong Shi, Geoffrey Ballard, Masayoshi Son, Larry Page/Sergey Brin, Mark Zuckerberg, Daphne Koller, Walt Mossberg, Al Gore, and Elon Musk. Previous corporate Winners have included: Genentech, Skype, Toyota, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers, Weizmann Institute, Amazon, Apple, Google, Facebook, IBM, and the X-Prize Foundation.

Nomination forms, guidelines for entry, judging criteria and further information about the World Technology Awards, including a complete list of past honorees, are available online. The deadline for entries is MAY 30th, 2011 (nomination fee applies).

The winners will be announced and celebrated at the World Technology Awards ceremony at the United Nations on the evening of October 26th at the close of the World Technology Summit, a two-day (Oct. 25/26), thought-leadership conference held at the TIME & LIFE Building in New York.

This entry was posted on Thursday, May 12th, 2011 at 2:10 pm and is filed under Awards, National News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

  • Archives

  • Subscribe to our Newsletter

  • Select a list:

  • GWEN Radio
  • Gamers Giving Back