• Village Gamer

  • Richard Crouse Announced As Host Of 2013 Canadian Cinema Editors Awards

14th May 2013

Richard Crouse Announced As Host Of 2013 Canadian Cinema Editors Awards

Canadian Cinema EditorsThe 3rd annual Canadian Cinema Editors Awards by Deluxe is thrilled to announce film expert Richard Crouse as this year’s host. The awards will be held at the Capitol Event Theatre in Toronto on June 6th 2013. The C.C.E. Awards is the largest event of its kind in Canada, focusing on the significance of post-production in cinema. The C.C.E., after only 5 years in existence, now boasts 250 members across Canada and growing. With social media and 500 readers for their newsletter, the C.C.E has clearly gained the attention of not just editors, but the industry as a whole.

“When I contacted Richard three years ago to come out and do the opening speech, I always hoped Richard would consider hosting one year,” reflects Paul Day, Co-President of the C.C.E. “He’s the perfect host for the Awards.” Fellow Co-President of the C.C. E.. Paul Winestock continues, “Last year our host, C.C.E. member Mark Sanders, suggested to Richard on stage that he host next year and he said yes on the spot so we feel honoured.”

The editor’s contribution to the final product has never been more important than it is in today’s technologically and creatively diverse world. Technology has arguably affected this craft more than others, and editing now finds itself in a pivotal place. More and more producers and directors are understanding that a great editor is one who knows more than the software, they help tell a good story with pace, performance, structure and style, bringing greater quality and production value to the screen. The C.C.E. shines the spotlight on these fine artists who work well behind the scenes on the ‘invisible art’.

“I’m thrilled to be invited to host the C.C.E. Awards,” says Crouse. “To paraphrase George C. Scott, if I was ever stranded on a desert island all I would need is food, water and a great editor.”

Tickets are on sale now.

2013 Nominees

Best Editing in Feature length

    •   Adam Locke-Norton – “Stress Position”
    •   Stephen Philipson – “Molly Maxwell”
    •   Dev Singh – “Picture Day”
    •   Matt Hannam – “Antiviral”
    •   Roderick Deogrades – “Still Mine”

Best Editing in Television Movie or Mini-Series

    •   Lisa Binkley, C.C.E. – “Hitched for the Holidays”
    •   Gordon Rempel, C.C.E. – “She Made Them Do It”
    •   Ron Wisman Sr., C.C.E. – “An Officer and a Murderer”
    •   Roslyn Kalloo – “The Phantoms”
    •   Susan Shipton – “Titanic, Episode 4″

Best Editing in Long Form Television Series – (1 hour drama, comedy, family program)

    •   Wendy Hallam Martin, C.C.E. – “The Borgias, Episode 210: The Confession”
    •   Paul Winestock, C.C.E. – “Cracked, Episode 110: Blind Spot”
    •   Lisa Grootenboer, C.C.E. – “The Borgias, Episode 205: The Choice”
    •   Stephen Lawrence, C.C.E. – “The Transporter, Episode 112: Trojan Horsepower”
    •   Mike Banas, C.C.E. – “The L.A. Complex, Episode 213: Don’t Say Goodbye”

Best Editing in 1/2 hour Broadcast Short Form

    •   Charles Robichaud – “R.L. Stine’s The Haunting Hour, Episode: Uncle Howie”
    •   Kimberlee McTaggart – “Call Me Fitz, Episode: Are You There God?…”
    •   Jason Irvine – “Degrassi, Episode 1232: Bittersweet Symphony pt 2”
    •   Ellen Fine – “My Babysitter’s a Vampire (Season 2), Episode: Fanged & Furious”
    •   Lisa Jane Robison, C.C.E. –  “R.L. Stine’s The Haunting Hour, Episode: Spaceman”

Best Editing in Documentary

    •   Kelly Morris – “A Wolf Called Storm”
    •   Matt Lyon – “Lunarcy!”
    •   Michèle Hozer, C.C.E. – “Fight Like Soldiers Die Like Children”
    •   Nick Hector, C.C.E. – “Echoes”
    •   Marcus Valentin – “Air Aces, Episode: Red Tails”

Best Editing in Lifestyle/Reality

    •   Jorge Parra – “Income Property 5, Episode 5084: Dan & Tania”
    •   Matt Anas – “Mother of the Bride, Episode: Monetta & Tricia”
    •   Tyronne L’Hirondelle, Kevin Mills, Richard Fulop, Brian Mann, Scott Estes, Paul Smart and Marc Murray – “Highway Thru Hell, Episode 1008:  I Can’t Take it Anymore!”
    •   Al Flett and Erin Cummings – “Ice Pilots, Episode 406: Crash Landing”
    •   Aren Hansen – “Panic Button, Episode: 101”

Best Editing in Animation

    •   Joycelyn Poon and Jamie Ebata – “Oh No! It’s an Alien Invasion, Episode: The Royal Flush / Brainlings on Ice”
    •   Shyra De Souza – “Distraction of a Stationary Nature”
    •   Alain Delannoy – “Fraction”
    •   Dan Lee and Robert Henry – “Scaredy Squirrel, Episode: Talented Mr. Peacock /  Hiccup Hicdown in Balsatown”
    •   Kurt Skyers and Joycelyn Poon – “Babar and the Adventures of Badou, Episode: Babar the Pirate / Stripes vs. Scales”

Best Editing in Short film

    •   Andrew Coutts – “Sequence”
    •   Erin Deck – “The Devil’s Carnival”
    •   Michelle Szemberg – “For Dorian”
    •   Bryan Atkinson – “Night Light”
    •   Gordon Rempel, C.C.E. – “The Weather Girl”

Best Editing in Any Live Action Web Series (Comedy or Drama)

    •   Jennifer Prokop – “My Lupine Life, Episode: Dragon Moon Part 2”
    •   Ian Macleod – “The Last Fall of Ashes, Episode 5”
    •   Jonathan Robbins – “Clutch, Episode 200: Aftermath”
    •   Anthony K. Baird and Thom Smalley – “Guidestones, Episode 30: Market Collapse”

Lifetime Achievement Awards

    •   Ralph Brunjes, C.C.E.
    •   Kelly Smith, C.C.E. (Posthumous)
    •   Rik Morden, C.C.E. (Posthumous)

Student Merit Awards

    •   Haya Waseem, Sheridan College – “Mimos”
    •   Mitch Spicer, Vancouver Film School – “Captive”
    •   Roxana Perez Fernandez, Vancouver Film School – “Fish Can Fly”
    •   Matt Yim, University of Regina – “April Doesn’t Hurt Here”
    •   Jon Anctil, Capilano University – “Marathon”
    •   Zhengwei Chen, Fanshawe College – “Gossip”
    •   Jason O’Hara, Ryerson University – “Demur”


This entry was posted on Tuesday, May 14th, 2013 at 11:47 am and is filed under Awards, Events, National News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.
  1. Tami Quiring (@VillageGamer)
    4:50 am on May 14th, 2013

    .@RichardCrouse Announced As Host Of 2013 @CCE_editors Awards http://t.co/71A8bhABOk #cdnfilm #cdntv #cancon

  2. @CCE_editors
    5:25 am on May 14th, 2013

    RT @VillageGamer: .@RichardCrouse Announced As Host Of 2013 @CCE_editors Awards http://t.co/71A8bhABOk #cdnfilm #cdntv #cancon

  3. @RichardCrouse
    7:09 am on May 14th, 2013

    RT @VillageGamer: .@RichardCrouse Announced As Host Of 2013 @CCE_editors Awards http://t.co/71A8bhABOk #cdnfilm #cdntv #cancon

  4. @ElCidBarett
    7:42 am on May 14th, 2013

    RT @VillageGamer: .@RichardCrouse Announced As Host Of 2013 @CCE_editors Awards http://t.co/71A8bhABOk #cdnfilm #cdntv #cancon

You must be logged in to post a comment.

  • Archives

  • Subscribe to our Newsletter

  • Select a list:

  • GWEN Radio
  • Gamers Giving Back