24th February 2013

2013 ACTRA Toronto Award Winners Announced

actra-torontoACTRA Toronto is pleased to announce the winners of the 11th Annual ACTRA Awards in Toronto, which were presented last evening at The Carlu. The gala evening was hosted by Elvira Kurt with live music by multiple Maple Blues nominee, Shakura S’Aida. The ACTRA Awards in Toronto recognize outstanding performances by ACTRA Toronto members. Awards host presented ACTRA Toronto’s 2013 Award of Excellence to Shirley Douglas, honouring her lifetime of acting and activism.

Outstanding Performance – VoiceShirley Douglas Shirley Douglas (photo by Tim Leyes)

  • Shannon Kook-Chun (Requiem for Romance)

Outstanding Performance – Female

  • Tatiana Maslany (Picture Day)

Outstanding Performance – Male

  • Shawn Doyle (The Disappeared)

“It’s worth noting, I think, that this year’s fantastic winners starred in three independent Canadian films: Requiem for Romance, a short animated film by Jonathan Ng, Picture Day by Kate Melville and The Disappeared by Shandi Shannon Kook-Chun (photo: Max Kopanygin)Mitchell. All writer-directors and two of them female,” said President, David Sparrow. “Groundbreaking representation on lots of levels.”

ACTRA Toronto thanks the generous sponsors of The 11th Annual ACTRA Awards in Toronto:

Diamond Sponsor

  • Actra Fraternal Benefit Society

Platinum Sponsors

  • ACTRA National
  • ACTRA Performers’ Rights SocietyTatiana Maslany (Image: ACTRA Toronto)
  • Bell Media

Gold Sponsors

  • CBC
  • Canadian Media Production Association (CMPA)
  • City of Toronto Film & Television Office
  • Deluxe
  • Rhombus Media
  • Shaftesbury
  • STARLIGHT – The Canadian Movie ChannelShawn Doyle (Image: ACTRA Toronto)
  • United Steelworkers

Silver Sponsors

  • eOne
  • Cavalluzzo Shilton McIntyre & Cornish LLP Barristers & Solicitors
  • Royal Bank of Canada

Bronze Sponsors

  • Breakthrough Entertainment
  • Creative Arts Savings & Credit Union
  • Directors Guild of Canada (Ontario)
  • Don Carmody Productions
  • Grant Thornton LLP
  • Muse Entertainment Enterprises Inc.
  • Back Alley Film Productions Ltd.
  • New Real Films
  • Pinewood Toronto Studios
  • Take 5 Productions
  • Whizbang Films
  • Writers Guild of Canada
This entry was posted on Sunday, February 24th, 2013 at 8:57 am and is filed under Associations, Awards, Events, National News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.
  1. Tami Quiring (@VillageGamer)
    12:58 am on February 24th, 2013

    2013 @ACTRAToronto Award Winners Announced http://t.co/7Isf7WPsHy #cancon

You must be logged in to post a comment.

  • Archives

  • Subscribe to our Newsletter

  • Select a list:

  • GWEN Radio
  • Gamers Giving Back