• Village Gamer

  • CATA And i-Canada Name Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Award Recipients

10th September 2012

CATA And i-Canada Name Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Award Recipients

CATAThe Canadian Advanced Technology Alliance (CATA) and i-CANADA have announced the names of the high technology industry’s recipients of the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal, with recipients ranging from Mayors, Economic Development Officers, First Responders, financial experts and community planners to a dance choreographer.

“These leaders were selected because of the impact they made on society and business from the application of technology,” stated John Reid, President of CATA. “Many have been technology innovators as well as catalysts for national transformation.”

“Technology gives us opportunities; leaders give us benefits,” noted Barry Gander, Co-Founder of i-CANADA. The organization, dedicated to creating an Intelligent Nation by transforming communities at the grass-roots level, proudly nominated people from across Canada to receive Diamond Jubilee medals.

“I am honoured to receive this prestigious award commemorating the Diamond Jubilee of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s reign,” said Stratford Mayor Dan Mathieson, an Award recipient. The work of CATA and i-Canada is vitally important to the social, economic and educational development of our nation and I am proud to work with these professionals as we prepare for our country’s future.”

These Medals are being awarded to 38 individuals who have made a significant contribution to Canadian life. “These individuals are held in high esteem by their endeavors and have strengthened a vital area of Canadian life,” said Mr. Reid.

To honour their work, the high technology sector is planning a Special Award Ceremony Dinner at the i-CANADA SUMMIT Conference in Montreal on SUNDAY, OCTOBER 21st, 2012. To celebrate the Diamond Jubilee Award recipients at the Dinner, a never-before-seen immersive media experience has been created called “A Canada In Conversation”. Dance, technology and music will be combined to visualize the flow of information between people, inside the impressive dome at SAT (Society for Arts and Technology) in Montreal.

One of Canada’s most renowned dance leaders, Bengt Jörgen, captured the meaning of the event: “The power of digital media can help dance ‘break its stillness’, and leap into our lives. Technology can be a projector and amplifier for the imagination.” Mr. Jörgen — himself a recipient of a Diamond Jubilee Medal — heads Canada’s most active ballet company: Ballet Jörgen Canada.

The CATA/i-CANADA Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Award recipients include:

  • Bengt Jörgen, Artistic Director, Ballet Jörgen Canada
  • Bill Hutchison, President, Hutchison Management International
  • Brad Woodside, Mayor, Fredericton, NB
  • Brenda Halloran, Mayor, Waterloo
  • Brenda Pastorek, Chief Operating Officer, Northforge Innovations
  • Brian Bronfman, President, Brian Bronfman Family Foundation
  • Bill Moore, Deputy Chief, Halifax Regional Police
  • Carol Barrett, Program Worker and Expressive Arts Therapist, YWCA
  • Catherine Boivie, Founding President, CIO Association of Canada
  • Cindy Gordon, Founder and CEO of Helix Commerce International
  • Dan Mathieson, Mayor, Stratford ON
  • Darin Graham, President and CEO, ORION
  • David Jonah, President, Local In The Know
  • Eldon Amoroso, Senior Director, Support Services Division London Police Service
  • Fawn Annan, President and Group Publisher, ITWORLD CANADA
  • Gary Stairs, President, Stellar Learning Strategies
  • Huguette Guilhaumon, Vice President, ScienceTech
  • James van Leeuwen, President, Ventus Development Services
  • Jason Powell, President, Digital Nova Scotia
  • Jim Gragtmans, President, ET Group
  • Jim Roche, President and CEO, CANARIE
  • John Campbell, President and CEO, Waterfront Toronto
  • John Kelly, President, Enable Business Advisors
  • John Longbottom, Smarter Cities Leader, IBM
  • Karen Dubeau, Vice President, Newmarket Chamber of Commerce
  • Kristina Verner, Director, Intelligent Communities, Waterfront Toronto
  • Laurie Guthrie, Economic Development Officer, Fredericton
  • Michael Hrybyk, President, BCNET
  • Michael Sullivan, Division Chief Communications, Ottawa Fire Services, and Vice-Chair, Canadian Interoperability Technology Interest Group
  • Michael Webb, Vice President Technology, E-Comm 9-1-1
  • Monique Savoie, President, Founder and Artistic Director, Society for Arts and Technology
  • Nancy Flam, Project Director, BRNS Initiative, Department of Economic and Rural Development and Tourism, NS
  • Pascal Rodier, Operations Manager, Sussex District, Ambulance New Brunswick
  • Peter Aceto, President and CEO, ING DIRECT
  • Rick Huijbregts, Vice President, Smart + Connected Communities, CISCO
  • Robin Winsor, President, CYBERA
  • Steve Palmer, Director, Science and Technology Transition Defence R&D Canada
  • Terry Dalton, President and CEO, Canadian Informatics Consultants
This entry was posted on Monday, September 10th, 2012 at 10:28 am and is filed under Associations, Awards, National News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.
  1. Karen SchulmanDupuis (@karensd)
    6:32 am on September 10th, 2012

    Congrats to @danmathieson!! CATA And i-Canada Name Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Award Recipients » Village Gamer http://t.co/MPuqqLix

  2. Revel CAFFE (@revelcaffe)
    6:39 am on September 10th, 2012

    RT @karensd: Congrats to @danmathieson!! CATA And i-Canada Name Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Award Recipients » Village Gamer http:// …

  3. Stratford Ontario (@StratfordON)
    7:21 am on September 10th, 2012

    RT @karensd: Congrats to @danmathieson!! CATA And i-Canada Name Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Award Recipients » Village Gamer http:// …

You must be logged in to post a comment.

  • Archives

  • Subscribe to our Newsletter

  • Select a list:

  • GWEN Radio
  • Gamers Giving Back