• Village Gamer

  • Ontario Kids Make A Difference In New Television Production

27th March 2012

Ontario Kids Make A Difference In New Television Production

tvo kidsWhat can six kids accomplish in three days? TVO and Sinking Ship Entertainment are pleased to announce the launch of Giver, a new 13-part live-action TV series that engages kids in their local communities, as they volunteer their time to re-imagine and rebuild local playgrounds in parks across Ontario.

“Giver shows what kids can do when given the chance to make a difference,” said Patricia Ellingson, TVO’s Creative Head of Children’s Media. “This series is about “kid power”, working as a team, civic engagement and the importance of helping to make your community the best it can be. Giver proves that when given the opportunity, kids can and will do amazing things.”

Working with the Ontario Parks Association, TVO and Sinking Ship Entertainment put a call out to communities across the province in order to select the locations with the greatest need for safe parks. They received more than 60 submissions from across Ontario and 13 communities were selected.

In each location a team of six kids was involved every step of the way – from coming up with creative concepts and themes, to drawing up the plans, to the actual tear down and construction – followed by a public launch of the finished parks. With only three days to finish the project, the kids felt a great sense of pride in all that they were able to accomplish.

You need to a flashplayer enabled browser to view this YouTube video

“From being on Giver I learned that you can make a difference in your community no matter what your age, shape or size!” said 12-year-old Giver participant McCaiden from Fergus, Ontario.

Conceived as a way to teach and encourage kids to become more involved in their local communities, there was an overwhelming amount of support from volunteers and local businesses who wanted to help out.

“It was truly humbling to watch as each community came together to support these young kids. I was constantly reminded of how nothing is impossible when a group of dedicated people decide to work together to enact change. This show would not have been possible without the support of volunteers, local businesses and our Giver kids’ endless energy,” said J.J. Johnson, creator of the series and partner at Sinking Ship Entertainment.


Giver will air Tuesdays at 6:30 pm and Sundays at 3 pm beginning April 17:


Hamilton – Future Park Tues. April 17 at 6:30 pm, Sun. April 22 at 3 pm
Guelph – Circus Park  Tues. April 24 at 6:30 pm, Sun. April 29 at 3 pm
Batawa – Dinosaur Park Tues. May 1 at 6:30 pm, Sun. May 6 at 3 pm
Fergus – Dog Park Tues. May 8 at 6:30 pm, Sun. May 13 at 3 pm
Newmarket – Car Park Tues. May 15 at 6:30 pm, Sun. May 20 at 3 pm
Goderich – Butterly Park  Tues. May 22 at 6:30 pm, Sun. May 27 at 3 pm
Niagara Falls – Water Park Tues. May 29 at 6:30 pm, Sun. June 3 at 3 pm
Hamilton – Science Park Tues. June 5 at 6:30 pm, Sun. June 10 at 3 pm
Hawksville – Sandbox Park Tues. June 12 at 6:30 pm, Sun. June 17 at 3 pm
Etobicoke – Nature Park Tues. June 19 at 6:30 pm, Sun. June 24 at 3 pm
Gower – Obstacle Park Tues. June 26 at 6:30 pm, Sun. July 1 at 3 pm
Kemptville – Skate Park Tues. July 3 at 6:30 pm, Sun. July, 8 at 3 pm
Georgina Island – Chipewa Park Tues. July 10 at 6:30 pm, Sun. July, 15 at 3 pm
This entry was posted on Tuesday, March 27th, 2012 at 11:42 am and is filed under National News, New Releases. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

  • Archives

  • Subscribe to our Newsletter

  • Select a list:

  • GWEN Radio
  • Gamers Giving Back

Optimization WordPress Plugins & Solutions by W3 EDGE