8th November 2011

Jurors Announced for 25K Kobzar Literary Award

posted in National News By: | Print This Post Print This Post

Shevchenko FoundationThe Board of Directors of the Ukrainian Canadian Foundation of Taras Shevchenko (Shevchenko Foundation) is pleased to announce the Kobzar 2012 Literary Award judging panel. The Kobzar Literary Award was created to foster cultural development through the literary arts and create opportunities for all Canadian writers to explore Ukrainian Canadian themes.

The Kobzar 2012 Literary Award shortlisted finalists will be released on November 10, 2011 and the recipient will be announced at an award ceremony on Thursday, March 1, 2012 at Toronto’s Palais Royale. Presented every two years, the $25,000 Kobzar Literary Award recognizes a Canadian writer who best presents a Ukrainian Canadian theme with literary merit.

In alphabetical order:

  • Denise Chong, author – researcher
  • Randall Maggs, poet – educator
  • Nino Ricci, author – educator
  • M.G. Vassanji, author – researcher

“The Board of Directors is proud and very pleased with the calibre of this judging panel,” states Andrew Hladyshevsky, Q.C., President of the Shevchenko Foundation. “These jurors are highly regarded in the literary world and with their diverse experience, brought new perspectives and variations to our understanding of Ukrainian Canadian theme development.”

This entry was posted on Tuesday, November 8th, 2011 at 4:28 am and is filed under National News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

  • Archives

  • Subscribe to our Newsletter

  • Select a list:

  • GWEN Radio
  • Gamers Giving Back