25th August 2009

Gemini Awards Announce Nominees

Gemini AwardsToronto – The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television is pleased to announce the nominations for the 24th Annual Gemini Awards, recognizing the year’s best in Canadian English-language television. The 2009 Broadcast Gala will take place on Saturday November 14th in Calgary, Alberta and will be broadcast live on Global and Showcase.

“Our television industry is thriving and this year’s Gemini Awards nominations clearly demonstrate that,” said Sara Morton, CEO of the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television. “This year’s nominees have found success with both Canadian and international audiences. FlashpointWe are proud to celebrate the achievements of these shows and the talents behind them, and honoured to be a part of such a flourishing community.”

The presentation of the Gemini’s 99 award categories and special awards will be divided over multiple nights. The 2009 Industry Galas will take place on October 19th and 20th in Toronto, Ontario at The Sound Academy; News, Sports, Documentary, Lifestyle, Drama, Comedy and Variety Awards will be among the categories presented. The 2009 Broadcast Gala will take place on November 14th in Calgary, Alberta; venue and broadcast time slot will be announced in the coming weeks.

We’ve listed below the nominees for some of the animation and craft categories, but you can check the full list of nominees at the Gemini Awards web site.  We at Village Gamer would like to congratulate the entire cast and production team over at Flashpoint, our favourite Canadian-produced police action series for receiving an unprecedented nineteen nominations. This is also one TV series we’d like to see ported over to the video game world.

Best Achievement in Main Title Design

*Alain Provost, Aileen McBride, Michel Mercier, Theresa Warburton – 2008 Beijing Olympics
*Boyne Stergulc – 2009 National Aboriginal Achievement Awards
*Kim Jackson, Ron Gervais, Mike McDougall – Flashpoint Main Title Sequence
*Kevin Micallef, Brant Forrest, Don Gauthier, Glen Wyand – Grossology Main Title Sequence
*Shane Kinnear, Kevin Chandoo, Brent Whitmore – Murdoch Mysteries Main Title Sequence

Best Visual Effects

*Tom Turnbull, Ian Britton, Jeramie Chen, Robert Crowther, Graham Cunningham, Matthew Hansen, Ariel Joson, Andrew Nguyen, Joel Skeete, John Watson – Everest

*Steve Hodgson, Doug Campbell, Keegan Douglas, Terry Hutcheson, Charles Lai, Richard Patterson, Adam Stern – Impact

*Lee Wilson, Caleb Ashmore, Matthew Belbin, Sebastien Bergeron, Ken Lee, Lionel Lim, Mladen Miholjcic, Les Quinn, Lisa Sepp-Wilson, Philippe Thibault – Sanctuary The Five

*Lee Wilson, Caleb Ashmore, Matthew Belbin, Sebastien Bergeron, Ken Lee, Lionel Lim, Mladen Miholjcic, Les Quinn, Lisa Sepp-Wilson, Philippe Thibault – Sanctuary Sanctuary For All P1

*Mark Savela, Brenda Campbell, Natalia Diaz, Carina Dielissen Hunt, Shannon Gurney, Paul Hegg, Vivian Jim, Chandra Juhasz, Kodie MacKenzie, Alex McClymont – Stargate Atlantis Enemy At The Gate

*Mark Savela, Jason Gross, Paul Hegg, Brandon Hines, Jamie Yukio Kawano, Alex McClymont, Krista McLean, James Rorick, Luke Vallee – Stargate Atlantis First Contact

*Bob Munroe, Terry Bradley, Bret Culp, Maria Gordon, Luke Groves, Bill Halliday, Bo Mosley, Josa Porter, Patrik Witzmann – The Tudors Episode 205

Animated Programme or Series:

*Jibber Jabber (Jibber Jabber Toons Ltd.) Producers – David Bowes and Jim Corbett
*Life’s a zoo.tv (Cuppa Coffee Studios, Teletoon) Producer – Adam Shaheen
*Rick and Steve, The Happiest Gay Couple In All The World (Cuppa Coffee Studios) Producers – Adam Shaheen, Christine Davis, Jaelyn Galbraith
*Roll Bots (Amberwood Entertainment) Producers – Jonathan Wiseman, Chantal Ling, Sheldon Wiseman

Best Cross Platform Project:

*Being Erica Interactive (Temple Street Productions) Producers – Shawn Bailey, David Fortier, Jessie Gabe, Ivan Schneeberg
*CBC News: Ormiston Online (CBC) Producers – Susan Ormiston, Allison Brachman, Karl Delgadillo, Paul Hambelton, Jeff Wyonch
*I Prophesy: The Future Revealed – Interactive (Henry Less Productions) Producers – James Milward, Sissy Federer-Less
*One Million Acts of Green – Interactive (CBC-The Hour) Producers – Jennifer Dettman, Julie List, Alex Liu, Paul McGrath, George Stroumboulopoulos
*Pop It! – Interactive (Hop To It Productions Inc.) Producers – Susan Nation, Nina Beveridge

Best Direction in an Animated Program or Series

*Kevin Micallef – Grossology Swamp Gas
*David Bowes – Jibber Jabber Race to the Red Planet and Pride of Frankenstein
*George Elliott, Joey So – Rollbots Training Day
*Cam Lizotte – Wapos Bay Raven Power
*Dennis Jackson – Wapos Bay Raiders of the Lost Art

Best Original Music Score for an Animated Program or Series

*Paul Intson – Grossology Swamp Gas
*Michael Plowman – Jibber Jabber Race to the Red Planet and Pride of Frankenstein
*John Welsman – My Friend Rabbit For The Birds and Pearl’s Pals
*Serge Côté – Rollbots Crontab Trouble
*Brian Pickett, James Chapple, Graeme Cornies, David Kelly – World of Quest The Crusades and The Little Troll Down the Lane

Best Individual or Ensemble Performance in an Animated Program or Series

Tajja Isen, Colin Fox, Dwayne Hill, Bruce Hunter, Rick Miller, Adrian Truss – Atomic Betty Elementary, My Dear Minimus and Great Eggspectations

Paul O’Sullivan, Melissa Altro, Juan Chioran, Michael Cohen, Sean Cullen, Lili Francks, M. Christian Heywood, Krystal Meadows, Lyon Smith – Grossology Pinkeye’s Revenge P2

Dwayne Hill – Grossology Fangs A Lot

This entry was posted on Tuesday, August 25th, 2009 at 10:00 am and is filed under Animation, Awards, CGFX, Events. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

  • Archives

  • Subscribe to our Newsletter

  • Select a list:

  • GWEN Radio
  • Gamers Giving Back