• Village Gamer

  • World Cyber Games Announces First Five Official Titles for 2009 Season

9th February 2009

World Cyber Games Announces First Five Official Titles for 2009 Season

WCG First 5 Titles
KoreaWorld Cyber Games (WCG), the premier international video game competition, has announced the first five Official Game Titles for the WCG 2009 season. The lineup includes Counter-Strike™ 1.6 (PC), Starcraft®: Brood War™ (PC), WarCraft® III: The Frozen Throne™ (PC), and Guitar Hero®: World Tour (Xbox 360), and Virtua Fighter® 5 (Xbox 360).

All five games have been a staple at past WCG competitions. Counter-Strike 1.6™ and Starcraft®: Brood War™ have been Official Tournament Games since 2001 while WarCraft® III: The Frozen Throne™ has been part of the WCG since 2003. Guitar Hero®, which marked WCG’s first foray into music games, and Virtua Fighter® 5 Online will be in their second consecutive year as Official Game Titles.

”As interest in WCG continues to grow around the world, we have become much more discerning in selecting the official games for this year,” said Hyeong Seok Kim, president and CEO of World Cyber Games, Inc., organizer of WCG. ”This year we decided to unveil the games in two separate announcements to pique the interest and anticipation for the official game lineup. These first five titles constitute the best and most popular games in a wide variety of genres including real-time strategy, first-person shooter, fighting, and music. In March, fans can look forward to another group of elite titles that will certainly satisfy every type of gamer around the world.”

This entry was posted on Monday, February 9th, 2009 at 10:31 am and is filed under Events, National News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

  • Archives

  • Subscribe to our Newsletter

  • Select a list:

  • GWEN Radio
  • Gamers Giving Back