- Village Gamer - http://www.villagegamer.net -

2013 Bell Media Showrunner Bootcamp Participants Announced

bell media [1]CFC [2]The Canadian Film Centre [2] (CFC) and Bell Media [1] are pleased to announce participants, esteemed mentors, and guests of the 2013 Bell Media Showrunner Bootcamp [3]. This advanced professional initiative is designed to equip three experienced TV writers with the knowledge, access, and executive skills necessary to establish themselves as showrunners. The annual bootcamp offers participants intimate and practical insight from top professionals in both Canada and in the United States.

“We are very happy with the success of the Bell Media Showrunner Bootcamp last year and really pleased to see the launch of this year’s program,” said Corrie Coe, Senior Vice-President, Independent Production, Bell Media. “One of last year’s participants, Daegan Fryklind, is now working as one of the showrunners on a new series for Bell Media’s SPACE, which is a testament to the program and the service that it provides the production community.”

The Bootcamp began in Toronto last month and continues through mid-March delivering key meetings with top TV creators and business professionals throughout, including a week in Los Angeles Feb. 18 – 22.

The 2013 Bell Media Showrunner Bootcamp participants are:



Over 40 TV creators, showrunners, executives and producers will lend their time and expertise in support of this year’s bootcamp participants. This year’s mentors/guests include:

• Steve Blackman (Executive Producer, PRIVATE PRACTICE)
• Morwyn Brebner (Executive Producer, SAVING HOPE, ROOKIE BLUE)
• Tassie Cameron (Executive Producer, ROOKIE BLUE)
• Robert Cooper (Executive Producer, SGU STARGATE UNIVERSE)
• Sheri Elwood (Executive Producer, CALL ME FITZ)
• David Fortier and Ivan Schneeberg (Co-president, Temple Street Productions)
• Josh Friedman (Executive Producer, TERMINATOR: THE SARAH CONNOR CHRONICLES)
• Rachel Fulford (Vice President of Creative Affairs, Entertainment One)
• David Fury (Executive Producer LOST; 24; FRINGE)
• Scott Garvie (SVP, Business and Legal Affairs, Shaftesbury FIlms)
• Scott Gemmill (Executive Producer, NCIS: LOS ANGELES, ER)
• Michael Green (Executive Producer THE RIVER; Co-executive Producer HEROES)
• Robin Gurney (SVP, Original Programming at Showtime Networks)
• Adam Haight (SVP, Scripted Content, Shaftesbury FIlms)
• Noreen Halpern (President, Halfire Entertainment)
• Hart Hanson (Executive Producer, THE FINDER, BONES)
• David Hemingson (Executive Producer, DON’T TRUST THE B—- IN APARTMENT 23; Co-Executive Producer HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER)
• Sheila Hockin and John Weber (Executive Producers, THE BORGIAS, VIKINGS)
• Christina Jennings (Chairman/CEO, Shaftesbury Films)
• Rob Kenneally (Television Agent, Creative Artists Agency (CAA))
• Alex Kerr (VP of Development & Current Production UCP/External)
• Armand Leo (Vice President of Production, Entertainment One)
• Bob Martin (Executive Producer, MICHAEL: TUESDAYS & THURSDAY, SLINGS & ARROWS)
• Mark McKinney (Executive Producer, LESS THAN KIND, PICNICFACE)
• Paul Mather (Executive Producer, DAN FOR MAYOR, MEN WITH BROOMS)
• Glen Mazzara (Executive Producer, THE WALKING DEAD)
• Adrienne Mitchell and Janis Lundman (Executive Producers, BOMB GIRLS, DURHAM COUNTY)
• Peter Mohan (Executive Producer, THE LISTENER, LOST GIRL)
• John Morayniss (CEO, Entertainment One Television)
• Stephanie Morgenstern and Mark Ellis (Executive Producers, “FLASHPOINT”)
• Kevin Murphy (Executive Producer DEFIANCE; Co-executive Producer DESPERATE HOUSEWIVES)
• Stephen Nathan (Executive Producer, BONES, JOAN OF ARCADIA)
• Ellen Rand (Director of Development & Current Programming UCP/USA)
• Mel Rauch (Director of Business Development UCP)
• Richard Rothstein (SVP of Development & Current Programming UCP/USA)
• Rob Sheridan (Executive Producer, MAD LOVE, LITTLE MOSQUE ON THE PRAIRIE)
• David Shore (Executive Producer, HOUSE)
• Kurt Sutter (Executive Producer, SONS OF ANARCHY)
• Quinn Taylor (SVP, Movies, Miniseries and Acquisitions, ABC Entertainment Group)
• Karyn Usher (Executive Producer, PRISON BREAK, DELIRIUM)
• Dahvi Waller (Writer/Producer, MAD MEN)
• John Young (Managing Director, Temple Street Productions)

Last year’s inaugural Showrunner Bootcamp participants were: Daegan Fryklind, currently in pre-production on the new original scripted drama series BITTEN for Bell Media’s SPACE, and a Co-Executive Producer on CTV’s new original series MOTIVE; Dennis Heaton, Executive Producer on CTV’s MOTIVE, picked up by ABC for broadcast; and Shelley Eriksen, Co-Executive Producer on CONTINUUM.

2 Comments (Open | Close)

2 Comments To "2013 Bell Media Showrunner Bootcamp Participants Announced"

#1 Comment By Tami Quiring (@VillageGamer) On Friday February 22, 2013 @ 4:03 am

2013 @cfccreates Bell Media Showrunner Bootcamp Participants Announced [8]

#2 Comment By @cfccreates On Friday February 22, 2013 @ 6:34 am

RT @VillageGamer: 2013 @cfccreates Bell Media Showrunner Bootcamp Participants Announced [8]