- Village Gamer - http://www.villagegamer.net -

Dianne Sinclair Memorial Fellowship Established for Outstanding Female Student Entering Masters of Digital Media Program

Masters For Digital Media [1]Vancouver – Dr. Gerri Sinclair, Executive Director of the Masters of Digital Media Program [1] and CEO of the Centre for Digital Media, together with Dr. Yosef Wosk, Director of Interdisciplinary Programs in Continuing Studies at Simon Fraser University announced today the Dianne Sinclair Memorial Fellowship Fund, to be offered to the most outstanding female student entering the Masters of Digital Media (MDM) Program each year based on the student’s academic performance and portfolio assessment. The application deadline for the MDM Program is June 30, 2009.

Dr. Yosef Wosk [2]

Dr. Yosef Wosk+

The Dianne Sinclair Memorial Fellowship Fund was established by Dr. Yosef Wosk, a supporter of digital media and the Masters of Digital Media Program, a member of the Order of British Columbia and an Honorary Doctor of Letters (Litt.D.) from Emily Carr University of Art + Design. “I wanted to provide financial support for a truly outstanding female student entering the Masters of Digital Media Program in honour of my high regard for MDM’s Executive Director, Dr. Gerri Sinclair and her mother, Dianne,” said Dr. Wosk. “The fund is named in the memory of Dianne Sinclair who believed passionately in the importance of a graduate school education for women.”

“Dr. Wosk’s contribution is a poignant tribute to my mother who strongly advocated for women’s education insisting it played an integral role in supporting a woman’s economic and professional development throughout her life,” explained, Dr. Sinclair. “We are delighted that the number of women applying for admission into the MDM Program has increased steadily since we launched in 2007, and we believe that Dr. Wosk’s generous scholarship award will inspire even more talented women to pursue a Master’s degree in digital media at our school.”

The inaugural Dianne Sinclair Memorial Fellowship will be granted in September 2009, and thereafter the $1,000 scholarship will be awarded annually for a period of ten years. The MDM application deadline is June 30, 2009.

+ Photo Credit: Joshua Berson [3]